Board of Directors

Thomas J. Simons

Director, President and Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Simons has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation and its predecessor since March 2006. Prior thereto, Mr. Simons was the President and Chief Executive Officer and one of the principals of Impact Fluid Systems Inc. Mr. Simons has over 20 years of experience in the Canadian oilfield service industry and has worked as a Technical Sales Manager for Newpark Canada and Protec Mud Services and as a technician with MI Drilling Fluids Ltd.

John M. Hooks

Director and Chairman of the Compensation Committee and Governance Committee

Mr. Hooks has been the Chief Executive Officer, and formerly President, of PHX Energy Services Corp. and its predecessor, Phoenix Technology Services Inc., since 1995, and has been chairman of its board of directors since 2000. Mr. Hooks has over 30 years of experience in the Canadian and International oil and gas service industry, including operations, senior management and ownership positions.

Kyle D. Kitagawa

Director and Chairman of the Board of Directors

Mr. Kitagawa is an independent businessman, chartered accountant and has been a corporate director since March 2003. Prior thereto, Mr. Kitagawa was President and Chief Executive Officer of Enron Canada Corp. Mr. Kitagawa is currently a Director of Zargon Oil & Gas Ltd. Mr. Kitagawa has previously sat on the board of directors for Coral Hill Energy Ltd., Advanced Mobile Power Systems, LLC, Esprit Exploration Ltd., Ferus Trust, Independent Energy Ltd., Invasion Energy Inc., Livingston Energy Ltd., Papier Masson Ltee., ProspEx Resources Ltd. and Wave Energy Ltd. Mr. Kitagawa is a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Alberta.

James M. Pasieka

Corporate Secretary

Mr. Pasieka is a partner in at McCarthy Tetrault in their Business Law Group in Calgary. His practice is focused on corporate and commercial law, in all segments of the energy sector and corporate finance, including early-stage and venture capital financing, mergers and acquisitions. Additionally, Mr. Pasieka has extensive experience with Alberta's electricity sector. Mr. Pasieka has provided legal advice on all facets of the energy business, having negotiated and closed transactions on six continents. He was recognized as a leading practitioner in oil and gas in 2007 edition of The Canadian Legal Lexpert Dictionary, and as one of Canada's leading natural resources lawyers in the 2012 and 2013 editions of Best Lawyers in Canada. In 2007, "The Dealmakers" edition of Alberta Venture magazine named Mr. Pasieka one of the top seven M&A lawyers in Canada's Oil and Gas Sector. Previously, Mr.Pasieka was a business executive and general counsel with several large oil and gas companies. Mr. Pasieka also taught law in Calgary and international petroleum law in China. Mr. Pasieka received his BA and his LLB from the University of Manitoba. Mr. Pasieka is a member of the bars of Manitoba, Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Philip J. Scherman

Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee

Mr. Scherman is a chartered accountant and currently sits on the board of Mullen Group Ltd. He is a director of The Calgary Foundation. Mr. Scherman was an engagement partner at KPMG from 1982 to 2012 for public and private energy and energy service entities. Mr. Scherman also served on the KPMG Canada Board of Directors for six years. Mr. Scherman is a member of the Chartered Professional Accounts of Canada and Alberta and was awarded the Fellow of the Chartered Accountants designation.

Stella Cosby


Ms. Cosby is an experienced Human Resources executive and corporate director with more than 25 years of experience working with global growth companies. She currently serves as the Vice President, People for Cervus Equipment Corporation (TSX:CERV), a publicly traded Canadian company specializing in acquiring and operating agricultural, industrial and commercial equipment dealerships with over 60 branches in Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Ms. Cosby has board and corporate governance experience and recently served as an independent Director of Savanna Energy Services where she chaired the Human Resources and Compensation Committee, and served on the Governance & Nominating, and Health, Safety and Environment Committees. Ms. Cosby holds a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Western University in London, Ontario, a Master of Arts in Organization Systems Renewal from Antioch University in Seattle, Washington. She is also a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors, and a 2017 graduate of the ICD-Rotman Directors Education Program.

Spencer D. Armour, III


Mr. Armour has over 30 years of executive and entrepreneurial experience in the energy services industry and is based in Midland, Texas. Mr. Armour is currently Chairman of the Board of Directors of ProPetro Holding Corp., where he has been a director since 2013, a board member of Viper Energy Partners, LP since 2017 and also serves as President of PT Petroleum LLC. He was the Vice President of Corporate Development for Basic Energy Services, Inc. from 2007 to 2008, which acquired Sledge Drilling Corp., a company Mr. Armour cofounded and served as Chief Executive Officer for from 2005 to 2006. From 1998 through 2005, he served as Executive Vice President of Patterson-UTI Energy, Inc., which acquired Lone Star Mud, Inc., a company Mr. Armour founded and served as President for from 1986 to 1997. He also served on the Patterson-UTI Board of Directors from 1999 through 2001. Mr. Armour received a B.S. in Economics from the University of Houston in 1977 and was appointed to the University of Houston System Board of Regents for a six year term in 2011 by former Texas Governor, Rick Perry.